Leading architects appointed to Mayor’s design pane

Mayor of London Sadiq Khan is bringing some of Britain’s top architects to lead a design initiative which can transform London’s public realm and address the population growth’s effects on the city.

Khan’s Good Growth by Design programme aims to ‘set ambitious design standards’ for public projects and ensure development across the capital is ‘high-quality, inclusive and sustainable’.

The mayor will appoint 50 ‘design advocates’, including respected architects and urbanists Sir David Adjaye, Sadie Morgan, Alison Brooks, Richard Lavington, Claire Bennie and Paul Karakusevic, to work with London’s City Hall and local authorities on the programme.

Khan, said: “London is facing unprecedented population growth and with that comes challenging work, but also amazing opportunities to deliver a city that is socially integrated, sustainable, healthier, safer and with a world class public realm.

“We must embrace London’s rapid growth with both hands and take this chance to use good architecture and planning to make a real difference to the lives of Londoners. And this is a chance to learn from past mistakes, some of which are still dotted across our city, and blight the lives of the communities that live in them.”

As part of the programme, City Hall will ask companies working on public projects to do more to tackle the under-representation of women and people from minority groups in the built sector.

A separate enterprise, ‘Public Practice’, will be set up to ‘plug the skills gap’ by inviting designers and planners to work on local authority projects for up to a year.

Khan’s Good Growth initiative, which was first announced in his 2016 consultation document ‘A City for all Londoners’, also focuses on improving access to affordable housing, tackling climate change through the provision of green roofs and walls in new developments, and improving transport and infrastructure.

The full list of the mayor’s design advocates is:

Sir David Adjaye OBE

Hiro Aso

Joanna Averley

Rachel Bagenal

Clara Bagenal George

Claire Bennie

Dinah Bornat

Andy von Bradsky

Alison Brooks

Adam Brown

Peter Coleman

Russell Curtis

John Dales

Irene Djao-Rakitine

Alex Ely

Liza Fior

Kathryn Firth

Daisy Froud

Alice Fung

Roger Hawkins

Wayne Hemingway MBE

Dan Hill

Tom Holbrook

Rory Hyde

Indy Johar

Dipa Joshi

Paul Karakusevic

Adam Khan

Lynn Kinnear

Vincent Lacovara

Richard Lavington

Christopher Lee

Julian Lewis

Holly Lewis

Laura Mazzeo

Sadie Morgan

Peter Murray

Lucy Musgrave

Fabienne Nicholas

David Ogunmuyiwa

Elsie Owusu OBE

Julia Park

Sowmya Parthasarathy

Manisha Patel

Sunand Prasad

Hilary Satchwell

Monica von Schmalensee

Fiona Scott

Neil Smith

Maria Smith

Paloma Strelitz

David West