High Speed rail expert Peter Humphreys joins WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff in the UK

High-speed rail expert Peter Humphreys has re-joined WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff in the UK as rail technical director.

Peter joins from Aecom and has 43 years of international experience in the planning, design, construction and implementation of high speed rail, metro and light rail projects in South Africa, the United Kingdom, Taiwan, Australia and the Middle East.

After graduating and starting his career as a tunnelling contractor in South Africa and the Channel Tunnel, he moved to the client side for the Jubilee Line extension for seven years. Then in 1999 he joined the Taiwan High Speed Rail Corporation where he managed all of the civil works for the US $16 billion Taiwan High Speed Railway, working as part of the Taiwan HSRC/WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff team on this mega-project. This included the delivery of 53km of tunnels and 285km of viaduct on the 345km long route. Peter has also worked previously for what was then Parsons Brinckerhoff as part of the award-winning integrated teams on London’s East London Line and Manchester Metrolink.

Peter has undertaken a number of executive roles project-managing high-profile metro, light rail and high speed rail projects including the London Underground Jubilee Line Extension, the Australian High Speed Rail feasibility study, the Sydney Metro, and the Jeddah Metro in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

Peter said:

“It’s a great time to be back in the UK with hugely challenging rail and high speed rail projects under way. I am looking forward to sharing my experience and knowledge with my colleagues.”

Darren Reed, head of rail at WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff, said:

“Our combined experience in designing, planning and engineering rail projects internationally means that we are in a better position to attract the greatest talents and minds of the industry. Having Peter on board will strengthen our technical expertise for the benefit of our clients; and I am delighted to welcome him in our rail team.”