SBID International Design Awards 2014: finalists revealed

The finalists of this year’s SBID International Design Awards have been shortlisted. SBID has firmly established this annual occasion as one of the most prestigious recognitions of design excellence in the interior design industry.

With a 15% increase in entries from over 30 countries across the globe, we are pleased to announce that this year’s finalists will include practices such as Buckley Gray Yeoman, Gow Hastings Architects, and The Studio at Harrods and will celebrate outstanding projects such as the Trump International Hotel & Tower; Danish National Maritime Museum; Qantas Hong Kong Lounge and Hertz San Diego On-Airport Flagship!

SBID President, Vanessa Brady OBE said: ‘Quality projects from around the world at every scale and price-point continue to represent our ethos; that design is a discipline that requires training, trading standards, a shared financial conduct and unity, then it truly is celebrated… SBID are incessantly dedicated to acknowledging excellence at every level and our awards serve as the finest way to celebrate this commitment’

The fifteen categories in this year’s awards range from best Retail, Hotel and Restaurant & Bar Design, Contract and Residential Product to best Visualisation (3D renderings), residential Interior Design Project Over £1 million, KBB (Kitchen, Bedroom & Bathroom) and best Intelligent Design.

The public are invited to vote for their favourite finalists at as their votes will be counted towards the overall results. Public voting will be closed at 5.30 pm GMT on Friday 5 September.

The winners in each category will be announced at the SBID International Design Awards Ceremony, held at The Dorchester hotel in London on Friday 14 November 2014.

The full line-up of judges for this year’s awards will include: Kevin Mau, Senior Creative Director at The Boeing Company; Ben McOwen Wilson, Director of Content Partnerships at YouTube; Jane Preston, Facilities Manager UK, Real Estate & Workplace Services at Google; David Lewis, Managing Director of Sunseeker London; Christopher Jenner, Creative Director at Eurostar; John Mathers, CEO of the Design Council; Mathew Dalby, Design Director at yoo; Carolina Calzada, Managing Director at Global Color Research; Patrick Taylor, Managing Director of Taylist Media; Katharine Pooley, Founder & Managing Director of Katharine Pooley Ltd; Theresa Dowling, Editor and Group Editorial Director for Progressive Market Intelligence design titles (FX, Blueprint).

The prestigious panel of sponsors include ABB, Natuzzi Italia, Maison & Objet, Wools of New Zealand, the May Design Series and Sans Souci Glass Deco, just to name a few! Sponsors and VIPs are invited to an afternoon tea at the House of Lords on Wednesday 12 November.

All of the winners and finalists will be featured in The SBID International Design Excellence Awards Book 2014 coffee table book.