The Daylight Award 2020, the dual prize for research and architecture, is now open for nominations

The nominations for The Daylight Award 2020, are now open. The exciting opportunity for the global community of researches and architects, to consider and nominate their fellow professionals, will stay open until 1st of November 2019

One name, two prizes

This dual prize is organised under the common name with the purpose of creating a closer correlation between the daylight research and architecture, emphasising the dependency of theory and practice and connecting the two worlds that can learn from each other and create better living conditions.

The nominations of the researchers working with daylight as one the key elements of nature, could come from the areas of natural science, human science or social science. The Daylight Award in Research will be given to an individual or a group of researches, whose work puts special emphasis on the effects of daylight on human health, well-being and performance.

The Daylight Award for Architecture is awarded to individuals or a group of architects whose projects showcase unique use of daylight. Special emphasis will be put on architecture that considers the overall quality of human life and its value to society.

The previous laureates

Since 1980, The Daylight Award has been rewarded to a distinguished professionals from all over the world. From Danish architects Jørn Utzon and Henning Larsen, to Swiss architects Bob Gysin, Peter Zumthor,and Gigon & Guyer to Richard Perez and James Carpenter from USA, French Lacaton & Vassal, and Japanese Kazuyo Sejima + Ryue Nishizawa (SANAA) to name a few. Laureates for 2016 were Steven Holl from USA for his architecture and Marilyne Andersen from Switzerland for her research.

Last year, 2018, The Daylight Architecture Award was rewarded to the Japanese architect Hiroshi Sambuichi, author of a.o. Shizuki Castle House and Naoshima Hall in Japan. In pursuit of balance before developing the design, Sambuichi investigates the landscape’s seasonal climate and experiments with physical models on site over one to two years. The architecture thus emerges through these considerations. His works are rooted in the local environment and are manifestations of the skilful use of the moving powers of nature.

Greg Ward, the creator of the revolutionary software simulation programme, Radiance, is the laureate of The Daylight Award for his research in 2018. Ward has investigated the interaction of light and matter across a wide range of physical scales, from unique building materials with specialized optical

properties, to the spatial definition of complex building interiors and facades, and to our urban and natural environments. Radiance is widely applied in architecture, product design, horticulture, motion picture, health effects and medical research. It has also been utilized in unique situations such as assisting astronauts in training to work under the harsh lighting conditions in space.

The Jury

The highly acclaimed jury for The Daylight Award, which will be in session in the beginning of 2020, evaluating the received nominations in both categories, consists of:

Marilyne Andersen, Professor of Sustainable Construction Technologies and Dean of the School of Architecture, Civil and Environmental Engineering (ENAC) at EPFL (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, EPFL), Switzerland; laureate of The Daylight Award in 2016, Anne Lacaton, Principal of Lacaton & Vassal Architectes, Paris, France; laureate of The Daylight Award in 2011 and winner of the EU Mies Award in 2019, Juhani Pallasmaa, Finnish architect, writer, teacher and practicing architect, Aki Kawasaki, Associate Professor of Biology and Medicine, University of Lausanne, Ophthalmic Hospital Jules Gonin, Lausanne, Switzerland, Koen Steemers, Professor of Sustainable Design, Cambridge University, UK, and James Carpenter, Founder of James Carpenter Design Associates in New York, US, laureate of The Daylight Award in 2010.

The foundations

The Daylight Award has been founded by the philanthropic foundations, VILLUM FONDEN, VELUX FONDEN and VELUX STIFTUNG. Such direction also demonstrates the consistency throughout the goals of all the companies within VKR Holding, owned by VILLUM FONDEN. Companies producing roof windows, vertical windows, and solar thermal energy solutions, sharing the common vision: daylight, fresh air and better environment. The success of these companies has enabled the foundations to support a wide range of non-profit purposes, in scientific, social, cultural and environmental projects, such as The Daylight Award.

About The Daylight Award

The Daylight Award honours and supports daylight research and daylight in architecture, for the benefit of human health, well-being and the environment. The award puts specific emphasis on the interrelation between theory and practice. The Daylight Award is given every second year in two categories; Daylight Award for Research and Daylight Award for Architecture. The award is given as two personal prizes, and each to the sum of €100,000.

More about the award and the jury at