Wienerberger Brick Award 2016 shortlist announced includes six UK projects

The Wienerberger Brick Award, which was first initiated in 2004, is a biannual architectural award that honours outstanding examples of modern and innovative brick architecture.

In 2016, Wienerberger is presenting this internationally established award for the seventh time. This year Wienerberger has slightly adapted the participation conditions. For the first time, architects could enter their best brick projects directly via the online tool.

After receiving over 600 projects from 55 different countries, a panel of architecture critics selected the 50 shortlisted projects for the Wienerberger Brick Award 2016. The award comprises five categories:

  • Residential Use
  • Public Use
  • Re-Use
  • Urban Infill
  • Special Solution

Among the 2016 shortlisted projects are Forest Mews by Robert & Jessica Barker (founders of Baca Architects and Stolon Studio), a redevelopment of an urban brownfield site and Herringbone House by Chan and Eayrs an urban development set amongst Victorian homes, both in London, which are nominated for the Urban Refill award. Saw Swee Hock Student Centre by O’Donnell & Tuomey a multi-functional building for the London School of Economics, is nominated for the Public Use award, and Seven Acres by Formation Architects a development of 128 dwellings in Cambridge developed with detailed master plans and design is nominated for the Residential Use Award. The full shortlist can be viewed on

From this shortlist an international jury of architects selects the winners in the single categories. Assessment criteria include innovative exterior design and skilful use of brick as a material along with functionality, sustainability and energy efficiency. Possible applications range from building solutions with classic clay building blocks and facing bricks to the creative use of ceramic façade panels, roof tiles and clay pavers. Special attention is directed to how the building blends in with the surroundings as well as to the form, aesthetics and general quality of the architecture. The use of Wienerberger products is not a necessary condition of participation.

The winners will be announced at the Brick Award Ceremony on the 19th of May 2016.

This time, the jury consisted of: Laura Andreini (Archea Associati, Italy), Johan Anrys (51N4E, Belgium), Matija Bevk (bevk perovic arhitekti, Slovenia) and Alfred Munkenbeck (Munkenbeck + Partners, UK). The official Brick Award ceremony and press conference, where the winners will be announced, will take place in Vienna on the 19th of May 2016, combined with an architecture symposium.

The award is endowed with prize money of 7,000 Euros for the Grand Prize Winner and 5,000 Euros for the Category Winners.

With its Brick Award, Wienerberger draws attention to outstanding examples of brick architecture.
As in the past years, Wienerberger together with the prestigious Callwey Publishing House will produce the comprehensive book entitled “Brick ’16”, featuring all 50 nominated and award-winning projects. This beautifully designed book will be published at the time of the official Brick Award ceremony in May 2016.

The Wienerberger Brick Award acknowledges innovative brick buildings of international quality that show the varied and diverse ways brick can be used in contemporary architecture. At the same time, the award, and in particular the accompanying architectural book, gives people with an interest in architecture, as well as experts, an overview of current developments and trends in international brick architecture with its remarkable range of applications.

Ref: 81115